It is frustrating to get a notice that your question has been reviewed and some questionable substitution approved, and you were not even aware that your question was even being considered for editing.
In addition to the points noted by fredsbend I'll add a couple of notes on how the system is implemented:
There are two kinds of edits: suggested edits and edits.
Suggested edits can be done by anybody (even anonymous non-users), but they have to be approved by at least 2 high-rep members of the community. Anybody below 2k rep can only make these kind of edits. The changes do not appear immediately.
Once someone reaches 2k rep it is assumed that they have been around long enough to know generally how the system works and they are trusted to both make immediate edits.
In both cases, as the original author you are notified.
In the case of suggested edits you are notified that an edit has been suggested and, as the author of the post, you can approve or reject the edit unilaterally. If you don't catch this before other reviewers do, it takes 2 voters from the rest of the community to approve an edit.
In the case of normal edits, you are notified that one of your posts has been changed. The revision history is available to show exactly what they changed.
In both cases, edits are subject to review.
fredsbend covered this, but it bears repeating: all edits bump posts back to the home page for community review.
All edits can be rolled back. Whether you are the post owner or just reviewing and edit to some other post, checking the revision history for any post will reveal "rollback" links on each previous revision and at your discretion you can revert to an earlier version.
Here is how to access the revision history:
- Click on the edited link above the user name that most recently edited at the bottom of the post.
- That link is between your user name and the Share, edit, flag links.
And here is a sample that shows how you rollback a revision:
- Once you click on the revision history link you will see all the revisions stacked on top of each other, starting with the most recent one.
- You can click on the blue background to expand the text of previous revisions.
- In the blue background of any previous revision are the links source, edit, and rollback. Clicking rollback changes the post exactly back to that particular revision.
It's a reasonable question, but it comes from a misunderstanding.
Practically, yes, it is your post. You wrote it, your name is on it, and you get credit for it.
Theoretically, it is not really your post. It's not even SE's post. It is the community's post. It belongs to all of us equally and we all have equal right to submit peer reviewed edits. Here's why this theory of editing can work:
- All edits are easily seen and can be rolled back if necessary.
- Edits bump the post to the top of the active page, where pretty much every frequent user will see it. I personally check this regularly to make sure they are valid edits, and they almost always are.
- Edits from low rep users are sent to the review queue where two high rep users must approve it before it is made public. Then it is bumped too.
- The user who most recently edited is put at the bottom of the post right there with you, so there are no secret edits that someone should confuse with you having written.
- You can always roll it back.
So there is really little reason to worry that the post will be invalidly edited without you or someone else noticing.
However, you might just want to know when this is happening. I personally think that is reasonable, but I bet SE will not make that adjustment to the notification system. You can try, however, to see it they will, by posting a feature request on Meta Stack Exchange. I searched and could not find this already existing, which surprised me.